Stormy Weather opened at Museum Arnhem in the Netherlands - marymattinglystudio

Stormy Weather opened at Museum Arnhem in the Netherlands

mary mattingly, Museum Arnhem, Netherlands with Brook Andrew, Ursula Biemann, Maarten Vanden Eynde, Serge Attukwei Clottey, Gayle Chong Kwan, Britta Marakatt-Labba, Frauke Huber & Uwe Martin, Mary Mattingly, Marianne Nicolson, Steve Rowell, Stéphanie Roland, Denise Ferreira da Silva & Arjuna Neuman, Moffat Takadiwa

Link to Museum Arnhem

In Stormy Weather, international artists reflect on the climate crisis in relation to the unequal power distribution in the world. The pollution and global warming with all consequences for land, water, air and all living organisms are related to global political systems and socio-economic processes, now and in the past.

In 2018 millions of people had to rely on emergency aid because of natural disasters such as floods, hurricanes and heat waves. By the end of this century, climate change will cause two billion climate refugees, one fifth of the world’s population. That’s what many scientific studies predict. Large parts of land in the southern hemisphere will become uninhabitable due to lack of water and high temperatures. Living areas in the far north will melt away.

For decades, the industrialized world has had the largest share of greenhouse gas emissions and has had all the benefits of it. The most vulnerable people, mostly in poorer countries in the southern hemisphere, are least responsible for climate change, but are worst affected by it and have the least possibilities to protect themselves.

Technology and adjustments to production processes are often considered to be the solution to the environmental problems. The artists of Stormy Weather show that fighting climate change above all requires a fairer organization of society.

Participating artists:
Brook Andrew, Ursula Biemann, Maarten Vanden Eynde, Serge Attukwei Clottey, Gayle Chong Kwan, Britta Marakatt-Labba, Frauke Huber & Uwe Martin, Mary Mattingly, Marianne Nicolson, Steve Rowell, Stéphanie Roland, Denise Ferreira da Silva & Arjuna Neuman, Moffat Takadiwa
Back to blog